Gundam Creator Directs Gundam Short Film

gundamshortfilm

Being the large Gundam fan that I am, I kind of have to post this. Yoshiyuki Tomino, the original creator of Mobile Suit Gundam back in 1979 and thus giving birth to a Japanese cultural phenomenon, is being tapped to direct a Gundam short film. The film, titled Ring of Gundam, will be shown at Gundam Big Expo this August, Gundam’s 30th anniversary event.

Sadly though, I’m not too hyped about the film. It’s just a short film for an expo, which just gives off the idea that it’ll just be empty fanservice for showing off Gundams or maybe giving well-known characters some screen time, similar to the Gundam Evolve shorts. The Evolve shorts were enjoyable and even added some neat things (ex: Amuro’s white Zeta), but I’d prefer a real movie or a short series (what I’m hoping for Gundam Unicorn).

I’m not saying I won’t watch it, because I will most likely at first chance. I just get the feeling that it will be shallow, instead of it being any of what I really want from Tomino (explanation of Char’s character reversal between Zeta and CCA, please).

Also, the poster with the RX-78-2 holding a naked baby is creepy.

Leave a Reply

