Live-Action Rurouni Kenshin Rumors?!

Remember the good ol’ days of Toonamui when we would patiently watch Dragon Ball Z, Gundam Wing and Rurouni Kenshin, among others? Two of those three have gotten live-action movies. Is the third time the charm?

Sankaku Complex reports a rumor that a live-action Rurouni Kenshin movie is underway in Japan, starring Kamen Rider Den-O himself, Takeru Sato.

Oro...sanjou?

I am actually not opposed to this. For one, there’s no way it could be worse than  Dragon Ball Evolution or G-Saviour. The series is just enough on this side of unrealistic to be pulled off in live action…if done well, of course. And it’s a Japanese period piece done in Japan by the Japanese. At least it’ll LOOK correct, right?

As for Takeru Sato, just from him performance in Den-O, he can pull off the light-hearted Kenshin and some of the seriousness of the character as well. He has the look, in my opinion. With a few more lessons from Momotaros, he might even get the swordplay down too.

Rurouni Kenshin is one of my classic favorite anime and manga series. It was one of my first anime series I was fanatic about, along with DBZ and Gundam. It’s the first manga I bought regularly, now owning all 28 volumes. I even bought a cheap, crappy reverse-blade sword at my first con (crappy as in the hilt broke off).

kenshinmanga

It took about 3 years, but I got it.

It’s been quite a while since I’ve had any new Kenshin material to geek over, so I’m cautiously optimistic. How about you?

5 thoughts on “Live-Action Rurouni Kenshin Rumors?!

  1. I wouldn’t mind seeing a LA Kenshin movie either. I would if it was in Japanese. If it were American, I hope they give it a lot of respect like they are doing with the Cowboy Bebop movie. But a US Kenshin movie wouldn’t work out anyway… maybe. *Thinks of the Last Airbender*…

    • I don’t think we would even do a US movie since it’s entirely too Japanese. We would try and make Yahiko some American orphan or something, and it would end up looking like “The Last Samurai Jr.” It’s too Japanese and never got big enough here for Hollywood producers to care.

  2. I’ve actually always dreamed about this becoming a live action movie. But can they please cast someone cuter to play Kenshin? I don’t like Takeru Sato. I always think HYDE (from L’Arc~en~Ciel) is PERFECT for the role^^. Well…. a dream can only be a dream

  3. I’m not so sure about the actor (at least superficially) but then I’ve been wrong before. Maybe this will prompt the studios to animate the Jinchuu Arc finally.

    • OH HELL YES! That was the first thing I thought as soon as I heard about this! I don’t know the actor and am in fact bad at judging foriegn actors/actresses so I’m pretty neutral about this, but he does look the part pretty well and I’ve heard good things. I’m just curious as to when they’ll release the rest of the cast! I wonder what they’re going to do with Sanosuke!

Leave a Reply

