Falling Out of Video Games?

My first N64 game. Always play the tiger or the turtle.

Are any of my fellow 20-somethings in “the real world” (dun dun duh) feeling a detachment towards actually sitting down and playing a video game? Does it being on console or handheld or even PC make a difference?

Every year, I see more new games that excite me with intriguing concepts and styles. New sequels to years-old games from my youth. New systems and advanced technologies. All of which I usually pass by.

Admittedly, I’ve never been a big gamer. My personal catalog of played video games is embarrassingly small (and the number I’ve actually finished is even smaller). Rarely have I even ventured into several popular franchises, from Mega Man (except Battle Network and Legends) to Street Fighter to early Metroid to even Final Fantasy. Yet I still get the plethora of video game references that occur in my everyday life (and in the Scott Pilgrim series/movie) thanks to the company I keep, the players I watch.

However, I have had my fare share of time in the pixelated world. My heyday was probably in the early 2000s. I played the crap out of Sonic Adventure 2 Battle, leaving my little black box of a Gamecube on for hours on end to raise my little Chao (immortal for the win). And of course, my Game Boys (gray brick all the way to cobalt SP) saw many an hour dedicated to those rambunctious little Pocket Monsters.

Yet despite loving the original Pokémon Gold/Silver games, I’ve yet to purchase their modern remakes. I’ve yet to even beat all the gym leaders in the last iteration, while my copy of Pokémon Pearl rests inside my DS collecting dust in some unknown depth of my room.

What happened to me running as fast as I could through Golden Sun? Long nights in Animal Crossing collecting fruit and fish? My summer of Super Mario 64? The two weeks of my college freshman year to everything there is about Tales of Symphonia? I love that game and I still haven’t played the sequel.

Is it aging? A shift in interests? A busy life (college job, friends, cons, articles, an often neglected blog)? Or maybe the Internet has really fried my attention span to the point of…

What was this about again? Oh yeah, Power Rangers. No, wait… gaming!

Perhaps the increased activity in life has replaced the vicarious experience for video games. I have let sitting down in front of a screen and pressing buttons for hours on end get away from me.

Even though that’s exactly what I do at my laptop all day.

With a busy life and the interactivity of the Internet, I’ve yet to budget time in my day for pulling out my DS or popping in an old Gamecube game, let alone actually embrace this seventh generation of gaming (so says Wikipedia). But my roommate has The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks, and I love me some Zelda, so I think I’m going to hop  back on Epona’s saddle and steal the game away.

Or maybe I’ll finally get past that damn dam…

4 thoughts on “Falling Out of Video Games?

  1. The new games may have better technology and systems and could always recreate the older games but there is one thing that it cannot recreate. And that thing is Emotion.

  2. Reading this i finally took a break from my job. I have a hardware store, and i get kinda stress throughout the day =) your post just gave me a few minutes of relax ^__^ I managed to find a rss feed on your site, so that i could subscribe for some more. Ill be sure to come here more often from now on ^__^

Leave a Reply

