Endorsing Your Opinion

In my day job, I do some telemarketing work for a local paper. One person I talked to didn’t want the paper anymore because it had supported candidates in the November elections. Not who it had supported, but that it had supported anyone at all.

At first, I thought that person was really annoyed because she supported the other candidates, that it was just personal bias. I thought that newspapers endorsing candidates helped show those candidates’ views and thus lets the readers decide on their own.

Then I realized my mistake. Apparently it’s disrespectful for a press organization to utilize its first amendment freedom of the press – which allows it to discuss the government and politicians without recourse from said government – and voice its opinions in its own opinion section. Silly me for not knowing that.

Leave a Reply

