Back from Momocon 2013

It’s been a week since I’ve returned from Momocon, but it feels substantially longer. I’ve been on pre-con crunch time, with the con I work for now a week and a half away. I feel only a little guilty taking time out to write this post, but that’s mitigated by the joy of not looking at my email in this mean time.

Momocon is an animation, comic, and gaming convention in Atlanta, GA that happened over the March 8-10, 2013 weekend. It was held in the Hilton Downtown Hotel, which would be familiar to any Dragon*Con attendees as one of their main five hotels. It’s a large hotel, but that didn’t stop Momocon from keeping it full with over 12,000 attendees, an almost 4,000 growth from the year before.

As usual, I attended as a promoter, pimping out my home con MTAC to the Atlanta masses. By simply assessing that, the trip was incredibly successful. Over 1,200 fliers were handed out, all that we had with us. Our promotion booth, while not the most prominent of the weekend (that honor goes to Atlanta’s June convention Seishun Con), the MTAC booth was definitely attention grabbing with its colored lights, dual-screen promo videos, and brand new convention mascot Conkitty. All of that is great, but it also needs pairing with old-fashioned handling the crowd and chatting people up, which we did in spades. An impressive booth display and personable promoters. Also, N64 Goldeneye. Everyone loves Goldeneye.

2013-03-10 16.11.58

I have a lot of fun when I visit Atlanta, thanks to all the friends I have down there from the con circuit – Momocon, Seishun Con, Anime Weekend Atlanta, Dragon*Con. Not all of them travel my way often, so it’s good to see them and pal around the few times I’m in their neck of the woods.

Momocon serves as a stark preview of things to come, with only being three weeks before MTAC and the tables are turned by me running around and them promoting. It’s also a shining example of why I work with conventions. I enjoy the work, and I enjoy the people I meet and work with along the way. As nerve-wracking organizing trips or keeping information up to date can be, I love informing people about something I really enjoy and want them to attend. I also love seeing a lot of my con friends together. Come March 29-31, I’m going to be neck deep in the work side of things, but I look forward to seeing more of my friends. Even the ones I just saw last week.

Congrats to Jess, Stuckey, and all of their staff for another successful Momocon!


Who will be at MTAC in Nashville, TN on March 29-13?


2 thoughts on “Back from Momocon 2013

  1. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and all. But think of
    if you added some great images or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and
    clips, this website could definitely be one of the most beneficial in its niche.
    Good blog!

Leave a Reply

