DIY Craft Project: Comic Collages!

Beware anyone with scissors, glue, and a spare weekend.

As my fellow comic book fans are aware, we tend to collect a surplus of individual comic issues that we generally don’t care about. Usually because they aren’t that good or we have no interest in reading again. We often end up with a lot of incomplete story arcs and one offs because of this. (More recently, I’m looking at you, Rick Remender’s Captain America, but great work on Uncanny Avengers.)

What do you do with your leftover comics? Do you keep them in a long box, never to see the light of day again? Do you try to sell them, getting mere pennies back on your investment (if you’re lucky).

Over this weekend, inspired by a comic collage coffee table my roommate made with some of our comics, my girlfriend and I made comic collage posters!

2013-04-30 21.53.46

What went into these?

  • Old IKEA scenery poster boards
  • Variety of my comics, admittedly heavy on the Marvel side
  • Scissors
  • Mod Podge matte waterbase sealer, glue, and finish
  • 1″ paint brush

At the end, we turned one of these:

2013-04-30 20.49.53

Into one of these:

2013-04-27 17.28.07

Improvement? I’d say so. Classy and creative wall decoration? Definitely.

2013-04-30 21.09.00


What do you do with your leftover comics?

Have you done any recent craft projects lately? If so, what?


2 thoughts on “DIY Craft Project: Comic Collages!

  1. Very cool! How did you decide to arrange the comics into the collage? Did you first start with the strips of paper then picked out your favorite images and cut and pasted around them (as in Captain America) or was it just whatever seemed to fit from the collage pieces you cut?

    • A bit of both. We started out with a bunch of neat images we cut out of my comics, and then we used up the ones that fit the best together. I now have a folder of extras in case I want to do another one. Although, for the next one, I’m considering going with black and white manga. Somewhat depends on what I find at one of my regular comic shops’ next back issue sale.

Leave a Reply

